Tokyo Auto Salon 2024 – The Other Sights of TAS

It’s taken quite a while (months!) but we’ve finally reached the tail end of our TAS2024 coverage! While cars and parts definitely take centre stage at the Auto Salon, there were still plenty of other sights to take in and enjoy throughout the event.

Firstly, there’s the abundance of merchandise and toys available. For those fortunate enough to snag early bird tickets (or if you can attend trade/media day), you’re usually the first in line for the most coveted items or have early access to great discounts on clearance items offered by vendors. Not to mention the availability of sizes for all the t-shirts on offer, although at the same time, I’m not too sure who’s in the market for Race Queen socks!?!

Ebbro’s booth, in particular, always offers great prices on lovely scale models that fly off the shelves! For years, I’ve been passing up buying their 1:18s due to luggage space and the hassle of hauling them back into Tokyo after a long day at TAS. But this year, I decided to make a change. Despite initial hesitations, I set my worries aside and bought that 1:18 Calsonic GTR, along with a 1:43 Itasha GT86 and Hakosuka Skyline GTR!

¥7,000 for a 1:18 made by Ebbro is really hard to pass up. It’s now happily sitting on my bookshelf.

For those who prefer a slightly smaller scale, there were a ton of Hot Wheels on sale at what I’d feel were very reasonable prices.

It was a refreshing and enjoyable experience to shop for Hot Wheels without dealing with scalpers or people shoving you away. The cars were also regularly restocked, allowing most people to easily find their favourite models.

For casual collectors like me, who just want to buy what we like without caring about resale values, it was a Godsend and I was able to pick out some lovely cars and grab some for friends back home. I think the prices are rather fair no?

See anything you like?

There were no- Hot Wheels too. For those wondering, Ignition Model/Inno64 had their own booths elsewhere. But those are a little too fancy for me.

The internet-trending R34 GTR Tissue boxes. Fun but at ¥6,600, also a tad too expensive a novelty for me.

Sometimes, you’d come across some friendly faces, like Hansel Echeverria, creator of those cool Leen Customs pins.

For those interested in window shopping for full-sized autos, all the major wheel manufacturers were also present, showcasing their latest products.

The year, there seemed to be an increase in high-end aftermarket wheels for vans and trucks using a 6-lug pattern.

I still love these Onis. I think they’ll look especially sweet on the Mark II.

Expectedly, vintage-style wheels were experiencing a resurgence in popularity.

Bride surprised many of us with the release of a limited edition Hatsune Miku seat. I loved it, but it was quite pricey, especially considering that a pair is needed for proper interior aesthetics!

I also really liked this Vintage racing seat. I think it’ll look and work great in the 02. But once again, budget limitations.

Something intriguing caught my eye: a relocation kit from Works Bell for modern steering wheel multi-function buttons. While it appears to be an ergonomic nightmare, it offers owners the opportunity to install an aftermarket racing steering wheel while keeping all the functionality of these buttons intact. Most importantly, the kit enables a reversible modification, making it easy for owners to switch back to their original setups if needed.

And of course, for those who just prefer eye candy… I’ll wrap up here with a collection of photos.

Welcome to the Tokyo Auto Salon. See you again next time (I hope)!

Leave a comment